top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 4

Back to work day. My work during lockdown has been, most consistently, childcare. Jobbing in the often misunderstood 'arts', the effect of Covid was for obvious reasons, pretty grim. Child minding, I am incredibly grateful for. It offers excellent job security and the craic is, as they say, mighty. Today we were playing a highly competitive game of Lollipop Brick.

Ah, you don't know this game I hear you say? Well, let me explain: it involves a basketball hoop, shed wall, rugby ball and 2-3 very loud and hyperactive kids. I am including myself in that category. One team is shooting the ball into the hoop, the other--myself and child A--shoot against the shed wall. In order to score a point, it is imperative that once the ball has hit off the shed, a member of that team touches it. This is harder than it seems especially when child B arrives like a bulldozer charging in between the hitter and the shed, intercepting that crucial 'touch back' at stunning speed and volume. Volume and foul tactics are both crucial in this game. Tackling, bird noises, mocking and screeching are all actively encouraged in order to snatch the ball back off your opponent. When the ball inevitably lands on the shed roof, small children are excellent at retrievals. In fact, they enjoy them.

The game has been so christened due to the fact that the basketball hoop resembles a lollipop stick and the shed wall, a brick. Of course.

This evening will definitely not live up to the energy of today's activities. I plan on curling up to Dolly Alderton's new book Ghosts. I highly recommend it. It is acerbically funny, wise and powerful in its observations of human relationships-- romantic and otherwise.

After reading some equally acerbic reviews of this book, I was in doubt about its merits. These doubts were unfounded. The reviews, written primarily by men, I fear were based on its position within the misogynistically named genre 'chick-lit'. What would the male equivalent of chick-lit be, I wonder? Dick-lit? Genuine question.

If this novel is anything to go by, then chick-lit is sharp, smart and very aware of its own power which is often hidden by a soft and fluffy coat (possibly fur) not to be fooled by. I'm in.


xoxo wear a coat

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

コメント


bottom of page