top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 25

In reverse order from yesterday, let us start with a sentence:

"I learned about being thankful a couple of years ago, from some experts--a conversation on facebook--and now I do it everyday; like in the way you're supposed to do yoga everyday but I don't, because the idea of yoga, perversely, makes me tense."


I am drawn to this sentence mainly for the camaraderie I feel to the author, Caitlin Moran's, aversion to yoga. I have never been a yogi and possibly never will. I put this down to the same reason that I'm not into soup: food in my opinion should be solids and an activity should be active. If I want a meditative state, I'd probably go for a swim. I get bored easily or perhaps I'm just put off by the heavy breathing.

I also like that she puts her find of 'being thankful' down to Facebook. Such beautiful irreverence--it makes me very thankful.

Another thing I am thankful for, is my child minding job. I spent a long couple of hours happily blundering through woods attempting to find the children during hide and seek. Child A is worryingly good at it and Child B is a shameless double crosser, "she was with me but she got bored and hid somewhere else"---half an hour later and it was revealed that Child A had been in original hiding spot the whole time. They were delighted. I was suitably impressed, and soaking.


Before getting willingly soaked in wet woods we had been inside continuing work on our entry for 'THIS IS NOW' --there was no need to capitalize, but I feel that the competition creators would appreciate the sentiment. Suitably striking. Whilst ripping gleefully through strips of newspaper, I asked child A if she ever had 'debates' in her class. She looked at me witheringly, "yeah, all the time"

"what kind of debates?"

"like 'water melon or water melownee'--it's obvious, water melon"

Children have real talk these days, tackling the big issues head on. It's admirable.

Gosh, I'd love a water melowne.

xoxo real talk

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

Comments


bottom of page