top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 22

Brown paper packages tied up with string, these are a few of my favourite things....I also like brown cardboard packages that arrive in post boxes. One of this kind arrived today, sent by a generous friend and containing Kiley Reid's Such a Fun Age which, I am told by same friend, is about a girl who is twenty six and so sarcastically explores the premise that this is "such a fun age". Something that, we both agree, is not always true and entirely not true at present thanks to a certain Ms. Rona. Yes, I am naming and shaming.

Blame game aside, today I met a delightful being in a beautiful pea green coat and clod in black leather boots with transparent heels. This mirage was my sister though she was very much in the flesh. We had planned to have a snow date though the snow had up and gone, apart from swirling back briefly to kiss us goodbye (as we said goodbye). She bought me a hot chocolate, "for takeaway"--important to let them know, remember--and we discussed the dame Edna O'Brien and Vestaire Collective whom sister has a great love affair for and theatre games which I have a great love affair for. Sister has also sent me a long document on 'How Fiction Works' for me to relay to my future students of flash fiction. I would also like a long document on 'how to be in your twenties in a pandemic', though perhaps that is what the brown package was for. Will update.

I shall now go and make pasta and cook it al dente in loving memory of days in Italy. It means 'with a bite' and I feel that that is a metaphor for now.

xoxo al dente

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rite of Passage

The post below was completed all of two months ago but left to stew in the hope that 'depth' may be added. The reality is that it is now...

Comentários


bottom of page