top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 20

What is your technique for bringing your space shuttles into land? I personally like to make sure that gear flaps are engaged and that my partner has established a safe landing zone. Whenever I visit those on planet B I also like to make sure that they're happy for us to potentially land in on them-- when things go tits up over here.

No, I'm not planning for the apocalypse. I am preparing for an audition. First things first.

Via the high tech 'zoom' space station, I will be guided back to planet earth and hopefully a role on the mission, IF I successfully and convincingly land the space shuttle 'Kitchen chair' into orbit. It sounds like a tough gig for this first time astronaut, but someone's got to do it. The launch window is fifteen minutes but I'm an eager recruit, keen to do right by my team. I also have that killer Capricorn energy --and if the stars align then the planets probably will too. Cross your fingers for me?

I watched a film last night called Portrait of a Lady on Fire and emerged feeling ready for battle and keen to gaze upon the world in active equal collaboration. Why this ogling ? Because it's a film that tackles the thorny subject of 'the gaze', central to visual culture and power dynamics more broadly. Admittedly this sounds like a long yawn but brilliantly and most importantly, the film is not an academic exercise nor is it a stuffy lecture on art history and oil paintings. It's an evocatively told story, sharply written and intelligently acted (I'll be taking notes) with a healthy dose of steamy, fiery...yep, you guessed it, GAZES thrown in. The instructions are on the tin--you just gotta look.

xoxo open yer eyes

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

Comments


bottom of page