top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 2

Sitting down to write this, entry 2 of the lock blog, I am at my kitchen table facing three tin can lanterns hung up last night. I am ridiculously proud of these creations which were made by filling empty chick pea cans with water and freezing them. Once frozen I could bash holes to my hearts content without creating dents. I did this as an activity before Christmas with the child I mind. She told me, whilst enthusiastically yielding the hammer, that this was "very satisfying". I made a mental note to only do this with her when she was in a good mood. That glint in her eye was worrying.


I met my sister this morning outside the ever hipster Bread 41 for a coffee and pastry. I ordered my flat white 'for takeaway' before realising how blatantly obvious this was. Holly laughed at me. "You haven't been broken yet". I think it may have been my most endearing moment and I have decided that from now on, whatever the level of lockdown, I shall always order my takeaway coffee's 'for takeaway'. We sat and ate our pastries on a sheltered bench which felt like a bus stop but instead was outside a shmoozy and empty office building. My pastry was a pecan something or other coated in a show stopping butterscotch icing. My sister was tucking into a lemon meringue 'cruffin'. In between generous bites she would announce sensuously how delicious it was. I'm a strong believer in the sharing of food, in fact I strongly believe that one should always sample others' dishes in the name of diversity and excitement. Hearing her gushing and knowing that I could not sample any was extremely difficult. I had to politely tell her to 'shut up'. Someone recently pointed out to me that, while positive, sharing should "always be consensual". I thought this was a very important message and I look forward to some safe, consensual food-sharing when this is all over.


Sharing or no sharing, I am dining well today. This evening I am making savoury pancakes stuffed with goats cheese and caremelised onions. I have already had the first and feel like Nigella Lawson. Whenever I cook anything that is divorce from frozen pizza I am inclined to think of myself as the next best *insert food guru*. I then proceed to let myself 'off' for a number of days, single handedly extinguishing the beacon of culinary hope.


My musings for today:

-How are the animals in the zoo coping with lockdown? Maybe the monkeys are perfecting their pirouette swings for when the crowds once again press against the bars? What about the lions? Is there a hypochondriac giraffe convinced he has it? Are they, a la Madagascar, planning an escape? This time to a 'corona free' state...Any theories on animals in captivity hit me up. Let's get the penguins on speed dial.

xoxo stay safe


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

Comments


bottom of page