top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 19

Smashing is a smashing word isn't it? It seems to encompass excitement and brilliance but in a kick-ass, plate breaking kind of way. My obsession for this word today is inspired by an earlier workshop I took part in run by a theatre company called, drum roll, Smashing Times--they are pretty kick ass. They use theatre and film as a tool for social change, underpinned by a "rights based approach" and with a commitment to promoting "social justice, peace, gender equality, human rights, positive mental health and anti racism". Phooo. Is that all?

Their workshop today, via the good aul' zoom, made me feel all fuzzy inside, with a sprinkling of empowerment. Before I go full blown 'american wellness blogger' on you, hear me out. I loved it because this is what you get from the darkened auditorium of a Theatre. I loved it because once again it was about going on a journey with total strangers. In a Theatre, all you see is the heads and shoulders of people in front of you and here (alright yeah, and the stage), on my screen--lots of floating heads and shoulders. Alike in more ways than one. Finally, I loved it because this was about the playfulness that theatre can offer, this was about interaction and collaboration and trust and daring. And somehow, dare I say it, there seemed to be a like, genuine connection? developed through the screens. Myself and my partner had to 'mirror' each others physical movements. She jumped up and down like an idiot, I jumped up and down like an idiot. You got it in one.

As someone said afterwards, as well as being fun and social, it also feels like you've just visited the gym but 'without the membership fee'. I know that I will never be a gym bunny but I am down with becoming a drama hare. No, this is not a sponsored post.

xoxo smash it

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

Comments


bottom of page