top of page
Twenty Something

The Lockdown Blog: Isolation, Day 18

And thus this great stupendous day: the dog is kicked out of its kennel.

Yes, it's Biden Harris! Despite Child A's mutterings of "jeeez, he is old", I for one think that this 'old' dog, might have some new tricks. It is time for a new era: shinier, happier and...heftier? It's gonna be a big one boys. It feels like NYE again but this time with a lot more flags and a lot less pop (think I might put hamburger on the menu). It is, as the man himself said, "a day of history and of hope". Most of us are probably hoping for the same thing...damn, you took the words right out of my mouth. That's right...for Lady Gaga's gold Mockingjay brooch a la The Hunger Games (am I wrong?) to be given the attention it deserves.

A quick googlay tells me that the brooch worn by Katniss Everdeen in the film signified "rebellion to the capitol". Maybe I've taken too many classes on intertextuality, but I'm interested in this textuality. Reading on, I learn that "mockingjays were created after the disastrous experiment with jabberjays". Where 'disastrous' could certainly be a word used to describe what Biden is taking over from, 'experiment', perhaps not. The results were far too real. Very dangerous and. Ultimately, conclusive. No, we don't want experimentation, or meddling. We require stronger foundations than that. Where once "violence sought to shake (the capitol)", those jabberjays are now gone. It's time for brighterjays. I mean, days.

xoxo Hungry days

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lockdown Blog: NYE edition

In many ways, facing a blank page could be compared to facing into a new year. It's full of possibility but also full of unknowns....

Comments


bottom of page